The Spirit of Inquiry project is part of the Australian National University’s 75th-anniversary celebrations. It is supported by the ANU Communications and Engagement division and the School of History in the Research School of Social Science. In addition, many individuals and business units from across the University have assisted with this project, particularly Sarah Lethbridge from ANU Archives and Amy Jarvis from ANU Heritage. Special thanks to Professor Nicholas Brown for his support and our many conversations about the history of ANU. I am also indebted to Emma Cupitt for her insightful research assistance.

Thank you to those who provided contacts, photographs, documents and alerted me to relevant sources, as well as to those who gave their time in interviews, phone conservations and email: Richard Baker, Chris Ballard, Chris Bryant, Ian Chubb, Saul Cunningham, Megan Easton, Inke Faulkner, Paul Gatenby, Tony Hoskings, Frank Jackson, David Jones, Jamie Kitson, Rod Lamberts, Don Larkin, Brian Lees, Leslie McDonald, Thomas Mautner, Stephen Milnes, Barry Ninham, Anthony Reid, Verna Rosling, Brian Schmidt, Lyndall Stazdins, Colin Steele, Rabee Tourkey, Ian Walker, Warwick Williams, Glenn Withers, and Sarah Withers.

Dr Daniel Oakman, School of History, Research School of Social Sciences.


ANU Club for Women: A History 1961 - 2005.

Michael Agostino, The Australian National University School of Art: A history of the first 65 years, ANU Press, 2010.

Desmond Ball and Sheryn Lee (eds.), Power and International Relations: Essays in Honour of Coral Bell, ANU Press, 2014.

Leslie T. Carron, A Brief History of the Australian Forestry School, AFS Reunion 2000 Inc, 2000.

Stephen G. Foster and Margaret M. Varghese, The making of the Australian National University 1946-1996, Allen & Unwin, 1996.

James J. Fox (ed.), Life Celebrations: ANU Obituaries 2000 - 2021, (192 obituaries of ANU staff members, compiled and edited by James J. Fox on behalf of the ANU Emeritus Faculty)

David Hawking, The History of ANU Computing: Celebrating 50 Years of Undergraduate Computer Science Teaching 1971 – 2021, David Hawking, 2021.

Tom Frame and Don Faulkner, Stromlo: An Australian Observatory, Allen & Unwin, 2003.

Brij Lal and Allison Ley (eds.), The Coombs: A house of memories, ANU Press, 2014.

Trevor R. Ophel, A Tower of Strength: A History of the Department of Nuclear Physics, 1950-1997, Research School of Physical Sciences and Engineering, ANU, 1998.

Patrick Troy, The Urban Research Program 1966-1996, Research School of Social Sciences, ANU, 1997

Peter Alexander Vidot, The History of the Australian National University Library 1946-1996, ANU, 1996.

Jill Waterhouse, University House as They Experienced It: A History 1954-2004, ANU, 2004.

Derek Wrigley, The ANU design unit: design awareness in the modern university 1954-1977, Canberra: Australian National University Heritage; Amy Jarvis and Jack Dunstan, 2019.